Sometimes trials come our way and lately I’ve been fighting through some. Fighting… Some days it’s like I’m fighting for a life more than living it, but I had a revelation when this verse sunk in…

Pure joy and trials don’t really go together for me.  You make it through the trials and then there is joy, but God is saying no!  Count your trials pure joy for they will change you and make you better.  I’ve always thought that you just make it through the trials.  Fighting each day, but I honestly don’t think I can live another day just making it through!  I want to do more!  I want to live and make a change!

Really, how many people deeply apply this set of verses in trial.  “Words can’t describe how terrible I feel!  I am so blessed to be so deep in this pit of despair, anger and pain, cause I’m counting it pure joy and I know that I will develop perseverance from this trial.”  Yah, I don’t really feel that way in hard times.  I feel more like… “I’m worn out, I’m done!  God you can take it all away now.”

I don’t know about you, but I would love some perseverance; to be mature and complete, not lacking anything would be amazing!  What a great promise that such good can come from trials!

So, I’m trying to apply this verse more.  I’ve been considering it pure joy in moments of trials and I already see a difference!  It is hard, but it can be done!

The end of this month and most of April is filled with important doctor appointments in Portland.  I always stress out before the appointments and the days at the doctor honestly stink, but I’ve decided to challenge myself over the next two months to apply this verse deeply!  If you want to your invited to join me in this challenge!

The James challenge

  1. Consider all the trials to come this month pure joy.
  2. Hold onto all the promises in James 1:2-4 and James 1:12.
  3. Pray through these verses daily.
  4. Look for all the little good things in life.
  5. Recite these verses in times of trial or testing.

Join the challenge in James and share what God’s doing through it!

